Organised by Agent Burlieque and Burlesque Bible, tomorrow night sees the first Burlesque Awards with ten star acts scheduled to perform.

The votes have been gathered and counted, the trophies have been polished and on Wednesday, the Burlesque Awards (hosted by Reuben Kaye, above) will be handed out to an international array of stars.

It will not only be individual performers that are recognised but troupes and shows too. Past performers will be recognised with an “Inspiration From The Past” award and there are separate prizes for boylesque and burlesque dancers as well for best festival and best competition.

There will also be specialist awards for Best Gender Bending Performer (sponsored by This Is Cabaret) as well as Best Compere, Best Costumier and Best Political Voice.

A distinguished panel of judges (photographers Neil Kendall and Suelan Allison, producers Saph Rox and Vivacity Bliss and This Is Cabaret’s editor-in-chief Franco Milazzo) have picked twelve performers for the grand prize of Best Burlesquer 2016, ten of which will perform on the night. The breadth and depth of talent for this award is a true testimony to the current quality of the UK burlesque scene and includes video projection artiste Ana Morphic, the multi-talented Fancy Chance and the latex-loving Marnie Scarlet.

The chosen dozen are:

  • Ana Morphic
  • Bourgeoisie
  • Cece Sinclair
  • Dave The Bear
  • Fancy Chance*
  • Felicity Furore
  • Havana Hurricane*
  • Lilly SnatchDragon
  • Lolo Brow
  • Marnie Scarlet
  • Velma Von Bon Bon
  • Vicky Butterfly

* not performing

The Awards take place at Proud Cabaret. Doors open at 7 and the action kicks off at 8pm. Seating is on a first come, first served basis.

Some tickets are still available and information on location, ticket prices and their availability can be found here.